Saturday, November 10, 2007

Sonny Rollins - Ballads

This is a compilation consisting of all slower tempo songs.

Ballads begins with "I Can't Get Started" from A Night At The Village Vanguard, a live performance where Rollins eschewed a piano player and was joined only by Wilbur Ware on bass and Elvin Jones on drums. The next two selections are from Sonny Rollins Volume Two. "Poor Butterfly" finds Rollins joined by J.J. Johnson on trombone, Horace Silver on piano, Paul Chambers on bass, and Art Blakey on drums. "Reflections" has Rollins, Thelonious Mink on piano, Paul Chamber on bass, and Art Blakey on drums. On "Namely You," Rollins played with Wynton Kelly on piano, Doug Watkins on bass, and Philly Joe Jones on drums. The lineup for both "How Are Things in Glocca Morra" and "Decision" is Rollins tenor sax, Donald Byrd trumpet, Wynton Kelly piano, Gene Ramey bass, and Max Roach drums. Finally, "Softly As In A Morning Sunrise," from the live Village Vanguard date, features the same players as mentioned above.

1. I Can't Get Started
2. Poor Butterfly
3. Reflections
4. Namely You
5. How Are Things in Glocca Morra?
6. Decision
7. Softly As In a Morning Sunrise

-------->Download 1<---------
-------->Download 2<---------

Template by : kendhin